What is Save Our Voices?


Save Our Voices is a campaign launched by Australia’s four independent regional broadcast networks - Prime, WIN, Southern Cross Austereo and Imparja.

Through Save Our Voices we’re working together with the community to secure the long-term future of local media services, and the voices of regional Australia.

Over the past 15 years television newsrooms have been closed in Griffith, the Gold Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, Canberra, Orange, Wagga Wagga, Mildura and Albury and news services and local coverage scaled back in Bendigo, Ballarat, Gippsland, Mt Gambier, Albany, Bunbury, Geraldton and Broome. 

Further closures are inevitable unless there is a change in Government policy. This campaign hopes to bring about change so that the voices of regional Australia are protected with a range of strong regional media services to ensure coverage of important news, current affairs and community information.